Views

Ajim Capital’s 2022 Year in Review

Ajim Capital

January 17, 2023

As Ajim Capital celebrates its 1st anniversary, we would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to all our investors, founders, and community for a fantastic year. The success of our company is built on the relationships we have cultivated over the past year, and we are truly grateful for the opportunity to work with and for you.

As we have come to the end of 2022, we reflect on the challenges and successes of the past 12 months. While it has been a tumultuous year for the global economy and venture capital industry, rocked by inflation, geopolitical conflicts, and instability which impacted economic outcomes that raised concerns amongst investors, we are proud of our progress in furthering our mission to support African entrepreneurs and drive impactful change on the continent.

To plan for the future, we should first review our past achievements. Let's dive in.

Portfolio Companies:

Ajim Capital has made eight (8) investments in total, seven of which happened in 2022. Our portfolio includes companies in fintech, proptech, Logistics, marketplace, and Healthtech. These companies include:

  • Spleet is an online marketplace for affordable residential rentals and financing in Africa. 
  • Raenest is a recruitment and payroll platform for companies hiring in Africa.
  • TruQ automates and optimizes short-haul (or intracity) logistics in Africa.
  • Collect Africa is an all-in-one finance platform for African SMEs.
  • BuuPass is Kenya's market leader for online bus booking.
  • Daba Finance is Building Africa's most trusted Investing operating system.
  • Clafiya is redefining quality health care in Africa.

JANUARY 2022: 

  • The launch of Ajim Capital
  • Ajim capital gained massive media coverage following the Fund launch, which was covered by publications including Techcabal, CNBC, Inspire Afrika, Innovation village, and many more.
  • Started Twitter spaces, a platform where we organize founders' fireside chats.

FEBRUARY 2022: 

  • Our Head of Platform, Blessing Iyamadiken, represented Ajim Capital at the Africa Tech Summit in Kenya.
  • Eunice was featured in The Ouut, sharing insights into her journey to entrepreneurship as a young Cameroonian and her motivation behind investing in African Founders.

MARCH 2022

  • Our Founding Partner, Eunice Ajim, spoke at NYC Venture Capital Summit and UK-Nigeria Tech Summit.
  • Ajim Capital hosted our legal partner for a Twitter space event to cover legal issues that founders should pay attention to when seeking funds.
  • Speaking Engagement: Eunice Ajim was invited to speak at the DreamVC twitter space co-hosted by Getequity, where she spoke on becoming an investor as a VC on the African continent. She also attended the SXSW Event and was one of the speakers on DivInc presents "Just Us." 

APRIL 2022: 

  • Speaking engagement: Eunice Ajim was invited to talk on the African Fintech landscape and to judge a panel of outstanding founders at the Africa Fintech Summit, held in Washington, DC.
  • Award: She won the Business Insider Africa’s Serial Entrepreneur Of The Year Award in 2022.

MAY 2022: 

  • Eunice Ajim was nominated as one of the 40 Most Outstanding Women in Tech in Africa.
  • She was also featured on the Founders Live platform and Vencapital webinar, discussing the Ajim Capital investment thesis and personal branding.

JUNE 2022: 

  • We launched the Live The African Dream Podcast inspired to gather the next generation of curious investors, entrepreneurs, and tech leaders to spark conversation around the topics they are passionate about.
  • Eunice Ajim also attended the Collision Conference in Toronto as an investor, using the time to reflect on her journey when she attended the same event as a founder a couple of years ago.

JULY 2022:

  • Speaking engagement: Eunice Ajim was featured on the Equity Merchants podcast by Techpoint Africa, where she discussed her journey, immigrating from Cameroon to the US, launching two tech startups, and breaking into VC.
  • Ajim Capital hosted its 1st African Investor Dinner in New York, where we gathered investors and founders over great food, wine, and unique conversations.

AUGUST 2022: 

  • Ajim Capital hosted a second African Investors Dinner in Austin, Texas, where we gathered investors and founders over great food, wine, and unique conversations.
  • Eunice was featured on Inspire Afrika, where she discussed what we look for in companies, how we make investment decisions, and our value adds at Ajim Capital.

SEPTEMBER 2022:

  • Ajim Capital hosted the Africa Investor Dinner in San Francisco, where we gathered investors and founders over great food, wine, and unique conversations.
  • Eunice Ajim participated in VC Include BIPOC Fellowship for First Time Fund Managers - the program develops and strengthens best-in-class, historically underrepresented fund managers and connects them to asset allocators searching for the next wave of Alpha-creating diverse managers.

OCTOBER 2022: 

  • Speaking engagement: Eunice Ajim was invited to the Money20/20 event in Las Vegas as a panelist to amplify African innovations resolving real-life problems in the US and Africa, including digital banking for immigrants. She also spoke at the 19th Annual Columbia Africa Conference at the Columbia Business school.

NOVEMBER 2022:

DECEMBER 2022: 

  • Eunice Ajim attended the Google for startup event, which took place in Rwanda - a gathering of founders and investors.
  • She was also selected to participate in the Plexo Capital Cohort III GPx program. She was recognized as one of the most influential Cameroonian leaders aged 35 or under by "Réussites du Pays -35."

Looking ahead, we remain optimistic about the future. The lessons learned and the resilience built in the past year will serve us well as we continue to invest in and support the growth of innovative companies in Africa. We are confident that, with hard work and determination, we can achieve even greater success in 2023 and the years ahead.

For Africans by Africans - empowering the next generation of African founders.

Stay up to date with Ajim Capital on social media & by joining our exclusive investors & founders only email list today

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Copyright. Ajimcapital. All rights reserved